Posted by: audreybenenati | December 1, 2009

Grateful daughter recounts how father quit smoking


By Readers’ Page

November 19, 2009

Syracuse Post-Standard

To the Editor:

With the Great American Smokeout today, I thought I would write a letter sharing a personal experience, hoping to influence current smokers. I visited the hospital when I was 2 years old and my father was lying in the hospital bed. I don’t remember much of that day, but I do remember knowing my Dad was sick and that something bad had just happened.

That day my father suffered a heart attack from smoking cigarettes for 30 years. At the time I didn’t know it, but now my father tells me the story of how and why he quit. I asked him one day how he did it. How did he gain the willpower and strength to quit smoking after that day? He told me it was because of me.

Read the rest at: http://blog.syracuse.com/opinion/2009/11/grateful_daughter_recounts_how.html

Leave a Reply

Categories

